They say this cat Cerberus is a bad mother-

05/17/2010

I am a Mistress of Science!

As of minutes ago, I successfully defended my thesis, acing it out of the park without even half the nervousness I had even last night. I have officially completed my Master’s Degree in Biology and will soon return to the United States rich in the spoils I have earned through blood sweat and semi-frequent breakdowns.

And hearing the praise coming from my advisor and the censor, well, it was all worth it. I may have struggled, collapsed, fell down to the deepest ditches, bloodied and mangled, but I fucking came out of it and proved my worthiness.

Today, I am awesome!

Now, the sun is shining, the trees are fully flowering and starting to do the floating cherry blossom scattering that happens in Japan, and life is good.

This section of grad school is over. In a couple of weeks, I’ll start my repatriation to the States.

In short, I rock.

Can you dig it?

3 Responses to “They say this cat Cerberus is a bad mother-”

  1. Congratulations, Cerberus!

  2. Congrats!

    And thanks for fighting the good fight over in the “explaining to idiots why stalking is upsetting” thread over at PZ’s joint. Well done.

  3. Sphex said

    Hi Cerberus-
    Finally clicked on your name over at PZ’s place after having admired many of your writings over there. The ‘final straw’ was your elegant take-down of ‘coach olson’ on today’s Sunday Sacrilege. Once at your blog, I read all your posts back to this one (loved them- not that I’m surprised) but here I had to pause and say “Congratulations!!” I know it was several months ago, but I hope you still, from time to time, bask in the glory of it.

Leave a Reply

